Tuesday, August 9, 2022 – New York City

There are three parts to this: nightlife networking, daygame, and promoting.

Nightlife Networking

When I wrote the post Why Am I Making the Switch to Club Promoting, I identified the following as a goal:

I had big dreams about this at first, but, now four and a half months in to my time here, I’ve gotten lost in the more minute details of promoting itself and have neglected the networking aspect a bit.

Over the last two days, I hit an inflection point and this changed pretty rapidly.

It started on Monday when I randomly added an event promoter here on Instagram whom I had only met briefly a few months ago. This guy is well-known enough to have a blue check on Instagram. Surprisingly, he added me back right away, liked a few of my photos, and DMed me: “where are you working these days?” I sent him my schedule and he invited me out to an industry night he was promoting that night. Monday is my off day and usually I stay home, but I’m glad I came, because he welcomed me with open arms and introduced me to some other people who work in nightlife, including another blue check guy who owns a club I promote at as well as a restaurant, bakery, and is involved in some other nightlife promotions.

I think some measure of the networking goal could be getting as many blue checks to follow me on Instagram as possible. I DMed these guys the next day thanking them and they responded and said they were looking forward to working together.

Later that night I rolled by another club I promote at, said hi to the doorman, and walked in the door. It was the first time I had ever done that when I wasn’t working at the club and bringing girls. This may sound like no big deal, but only a couple months ago the staff had no real idea who I was, I was just another newbie promoter starting out. The mere exposure effect is starting to work its magic.

Yesterday, I went with my head promoter to check out a brand new venue. A manager of a club I promote at just quit and is now running this restaurant, and specifically invited us as the first to promote there. He and the director of ops gave us the tour: it’s a Miami-style restaurant with a “hidden” basement lounge. They want us to do dinner and club there on Thursdays, which would mean I can get my own deal instead of sharing with my co-promoter. Also, the vibe they are hoping to cultivate is a bit older, so I could diversify my options instead of just having all 21st birthday-type events.

The “Inner Ring” of New York City Nightlife

When I was at the industry event on Monday I was introduced to a girl who used to live in model houses and go out with image promoters. The way it works is that a promoter either pays (or has a client pay) rent in a 2br or 3br apartment, which they then stack with models living in bunk beds. In exchange for free rent, the models have to go out with them three times a week. If they don’t want to go out a certain night, they have to pay the promoter $100.

Also, I met this guy that knows a bunch of promoters and organizes after parties. He will look at the tables all night and invite certain girls and a few promoters to come, and then they can close the girls at his place.

In my view, these models and promoters represent the Inner Ring of New York City nightlife. For now, I find myself on the outer ring, which consists of corporate entities like Tao Group and Dream Hospitality, and bringing out tourists, interns, and college students.

Models, socialites, and other bottle rats are going out between 3 and 5 nights a week. These represent the Fickle 500, to quote RSD Luke. They’re always in search of the next hottest club, they all know each other, and they do after parties.

This also leads into why I’m not closing as much from promoting as I could. It all goes down in the after party. I leave at 2:45 AM every night if I’m not taking someone home (so far, I average about one new close every two weeks). The Fickle 500 are doing after parties and fucking.

I notice that some promoters have worked their way into the Inner Ring better than others. There’s one guy in particular that started only a few months before me, but he seems to have his pick of girls at his table. He also is doing the after parties, Hamptons, and Little Sister thing.

I think I should probably try an after party once just to check it out.

Daygame – 11 approaches, 2 numbers

I’ve been daygaming in this new area called Herald Square. It’s basically the Shibuya Crossing of Manhattan. The volume is way higher than in Soho on off-days (I’ve tried Monday and Tuesday so far). The girls are a point uglier on average, but there’s enough 6.5s and 7s to make it a better option than Soho for this time in the year, when college isn’t in session.

Really, I’m kicking myself for not going here earlier, even though my wings had this tribal knowledge from past years.

Promoting

I wasn’t planning on working last night, but after checking out the new restaurant/club with my head promoter, I tagged along with him to his promo dinner and then to the club he was promoting at.

At the dinner I started talking to two Austrian girls he brought out and they were in awe that I could speak German. It was like a 6.25 and a 5.5. Later on in the dinner the 5.5 was giving signs that she was into me.

When we got to the club, I was surprised to see a couple that I tweeted about back in February:

They joined my table and I watched them game some of our table girls. Eventually, they settled on these two college girls that were visiting from out of town celebrating a 22nd birthday, an 8 blonde and a 6.5 brunette. I said to the girl of the couple: “Are you planning on pulling both?” She said not ideally because it’s better to just pull one. I said that I thought the brunette was into me so I could try pulling her to free up the blonde. We agreed on the plan.

I gamed the brunette for about 20 minutes, but she was pretty drunk and the vibe just wasn’t there. I tried force feeding her water and watering down her drink, but she continued to get more drunk, and when I tried to spin her and hold onto her hand (compliance test), she let go of it.

At this point the 6.5 Austrian, herself fairly drunk, came over and started dancing closely and grinding on me. I was surprised because I thought it was her more modest friend that was into me, but her friend was off flirting with another guy. I asked her what the deal with her friend was and she said she wanted her friend to talk to as many guys as possible.

“What do you think of American guys?”
“Very nice”
“Do you have a boyfriend?”
“Something like that”
“It’s New York, we all have a something like that”

I isolated her and was grinding and grabbing ass. Eventually she said
“Yeah, I’m in a 3 year relationship”
“But…”
“But he’s not the one
“Well, being in a relationship doesn’t preclude you from having a little fun. You can still be in love with him and do your own thing here”
“Yes, but I’m very loyal”

She kept wanting to kiss me and then wincing and laughing at the last second. Finally she said she would need a couple days to cool off and figure out how she thought about it. She is going to be going out with me for the month that she is here so I figure I’ll get her eventually.

As I left the venue I see that the threesome couple didn’t end up pulling the college girls as they were sitting down on the sidewalk, the 8 blonde spotted me and told me “I’m about to pull trig“, which I didn’t understand until she stuck a finger down her throat to make herself throw up. Classy and now I know some more YND slang. Nice.

Notes on Destroying the Boyfriend Frame

Option 1: Play up the lover/fuckboy frame.

1A: We don’t have to worry about your boyfriend, it’s just us, we’re together for a nice experience. I also could have called her out on being so logical. We’re in the moment right now, why are you thinking about that.

1B: Disqualify the boyfriend on a bunch of levels (he’s lame, broke, a simp). You have to be able to hold your frame here and this works more for tainted club girls.

Option 2: Disney frame, build tremendous comfort and qualification/validation in order to close and rotate. Takes a longer time and surprisingly lower hitrate. If the boyfriend is already in the comfort frame you really can’t do this one.

You have to do an indirect pull to your place, you can’t dirty talk her or anything. You have to make her rationalize the cheating once she gets there.

Leave a comment